Awards & Scholarships
ABOS sponsors three awards
$300 Award
The ABOS John Philip Award is given to recognize outstanding contributions and prominent leadership by an individual in Bookmobile and Outreach Services. John Philip, known to all as “Mr. Bookmobile”, spent his long and honorable career as an advocate of Bookmobile and Outreach Services. He is the “Father” of the National Bookmobile Conference which started in 1986 and has now evolved into the Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services. Through his strong leadership and high profile advocacy Bookmobiles have been recognized as a viable library outreach service. This award honors his dedication and tireless work and serves as a pinnacle for all Bookmobile and Outreach staff to aspire to reach.

Three $500 travel awards
Carol Combs Hole provided exemplary leadership on behalf of libraries, bookmobile and outreach services throughout her 32 year career as a professional public librarian. She retired from distinguished service to the Alachua County Library District on March 1, 2006 and died on October 1, 2007. The three (3) $500 travel awards include free conference registration and a stipend for his/her travel expenses and/or accommodations for the conference. The winners automatically will be registered for the conference.  Carol Hole Award winners will be notified by August 8, 2017.

$1000 award
In order to contribute to the education and training of library staff working in the area of bookmobile and outreach services, ABOS has created the Bernard Vavrek Scholarship.It will be awarded annually to a student who is currently enrolled and has completed at least one semester in a Library and/or Information Science graduate degree program, and who is interested in this particular field within the library profession.. A check will be sent directly to the ALA accredited library school where the applicant is currently enrolled to be applied to the next term of study.  Dr. Bernard Vavrek, Professor of Library Science and Chair of the Library Science Department at Clarion University, retired after teaching at Clarion from 1971-2008. Along with John Philip, he co-founded the “Great American Bookmobile Conference” running it for many years until ABOS was formed and took over management of the conference.This scholarship honors Dr. Vavrek’s profound commitment to library science and, in particular, bookmobile and outreach services.

The awards submission deadline is August 1, 2018 at 8:00 PM E.S.T. 
Winners of the Carol Hole Award will be notified by August 8, 2018.

2018 ABOS Awards Chair:

Brock Hutchison
Mobile Services Manager
Stark County District Library

John Philip Award:
2017 Kathleen Butzen
2016 Marianne Thompson
2015 Pattie Johnston
2014 Willow Gale
2013 Rose Huling
2012 MaryAnne Marjamaa
2011 Jan Meadows
2010 Kathy Mayo
2009 Claudia Zimmerman
2008 Barbara Adrianopoli
2007 Carol Hole

Carol Hole Conference Attendance Award:
2017  Deena Caswell, Joshua Hill, Jeremy Jacinto, Amy Price, Abigail Worden
2016  Emily Byers, Kit Stephenson, Kirk Vriesman
2015 Tara Borden, Danielle Duvall, Alisa Soukhodolskaia
2014 Brook Bahnsen, Ginny Duferrena, Dawn Peters
2013 Jill Mitchell, Ron Sears, Tracy Warren
2012 Bretagne Byrd, Beth Helstien, Katrin Reimuller, Melanie Sperling
2011 Wally Clark, Rachel Grossman, Kellie Scott
2010 Patty Miles
2009 Ledezma Rodriquez
2008 Nena Donovan

Bernard Vavrek Scholarship:
2017 Lauren Freeman
2016  Susan K. Perry
2015 Tova Joanna Johnson
2014 Claudine Taillac
2013 Kathleen Weiss
2012 Michelle Dillon
2011 Linda Christian
2010 Zlatina Encheva
2008 Bo Kinney